Skip to content



The next Ashes series will be held in Australia in 2025. Tips and previews for The Ashes will be available closer to the event.

The Ashes Tips and Predictions | History

The Ashes Test Series is a celebrated cricket rivalry between Australia and England which has captivated sports enthusiasts since its inception in 1882. As we approach the highly anticipated 2023 edition, cricket fans worldwide eagerly await thrilling encounters, unforgettable moments and lucrative betting opportunities. To help you make informed decisions we present valuable insights, predictions and essential The Ashes betting tips through the Betfair platform.

The Ashes Test Series traces its origins back to 1882 when Australia claimed a historic victory against England at The Oval. Following England’s first-ever home defeat, a satirical obituary was published in the Sporting Times, stating that English cricket had died and “the body will be cremated, and the ashes taken to Australia.” This witty response birthed the Ashes- a symbolic urn representing the enduring rivalry between the two nations.

In this historic battle Australia and England vie for supremacy over five grueling Test matches. The prestigious urn symbolizing cricketing excellence, is the ultimate prize at stake. Over the years the Ashes Test Series has witnessed countless iconic performances and gripping contests; from legends like Bradman, Botham, and Warne to modern-day stars such as Smith, Root, and Archer. Memorable encounters like the tied Test in 1960-61 and the exhilarating Headingley Test in 2019 continue to fuel the intense rivalry.

The 2023 Ashes Test Series promises to be a spectacle of skill, strategy, and passion. As Australia and England prepare to lock horns, fans are eager to explore expert predictions and betting tips to make informed choices. Whether you are a seasoned cricket enthusiast or a casual observer, accessing reliable insights can greatly enhance your enjoyment of the series.

When it comes to betting on The Ashes, Betfair emerges as a leading platform for discerning punters. With its user-friendly interface, wide range of markets and competitive odds, Betfair provides an unparalleled betting experience. Betfair’s platform allows you to explore various betting options, including match outcomes, top run-scorers, leading wicket-takers, and more. By leveraging the expertise of the Betfair community, you gain access to valuable insights, statistics, and betting strategies to enhance your chances of success.

To maximize your Ashes betting experience, Betfair offers comprehensive coverage and up-to-date information. With in-depth analysis of team form, player performances, and historical statistics, Betfair equips you with the knowledge required to make informed betting decisions. Whether you are a seasoned punter or a novice cricket enthusiast, Betfair’s tailored betting tips provide valuable guidance throughout the series.

With its renowned reputation and commitment to fair and transparent betting, Betfair ensures a secure and trustworthy platform for Ashes betting. Whether you prefer pre-match wagers or live betting during the games, Betfair’s platform offers seamless functionality and real-time updates.

The riveting history of The Ashes filled with iconic moments, incredible players of the game and intense battles sets the stage for an enthralling series in 2023. If you’re looking to place a bet on The Ashes, then Betfair is the ideal platform to choose, offering a seamless experience backed by expert analysis.  Gear up and make the most of your cricket betting journey this Ashes Series with Betfair!


Overall, Australia holds a slight advantage in the series head to head, but a bigger advantage in total tests won. The Aussies have won 34 series to England’s 32, but lead 140-108 head to head in all tests, with 92 draws. Australia dominated the Ashes for nearly two decades under Allan Border, Mark Taylor and Steve Waugh with 8 consecutive series wins from 1989 to 2005.

During that period, England only won 1 test match whilst the Ashes were still alive (a non dead rubber), which came in the first test of the 1997 series. That test match was also famous for Mark Taylor’s heroic and career saving second innings century. England famously won the Ashes back in 2005 in arguably the greatest test series ever played. Led by Michael Vaughan and with Andrew Flintoff dominating, they would claim the series 2-1.

Shane Warne’s 40 wickets for Australia in that same series was his best ever haul across any series in his career. In recent times the Ashes have been dominated by the home side. England have only won 1 series on Australian soil since 1987 (that came in 2010/2011), and Australia last won a series in England back in 2001. England subsequently won the Ashes on home soil in 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2015. The 2019 series in England was drawn, allowing Australia to retain the Ashes. Remarkably, this was the first drawn Ashes series since 1972. Prior to 2001 the English leg of the Ashes was always played over 6 tests, with 5 tests played when Australia was the host. This changed to a uniform five test series in both countries from 2001 to the present.






MOST RUNS AUS: DONALD BRADMAN 5,028 AT 89.78 (19 centuries)

MOST RUNS ENG: JACK HOBBS 3,636 AT 54.26 (12 centuries)

MOST WICKETS AUS: SHANE WARNE 195 AT 23.25 (11 five wicket hauls)

MOST WICKETS ENG: STUART BROAD 131 AT 29.05 (8 five wicket hauls)


2021/2022: 4-0 AUSTRALIA IN AUS

2019: 2-2 DRAW IN ENG

2017/18: 4-0 AUSTRALIA IN AUS

2015: 3-2 ENGLAND IN ENG

2013/2014: 5-0 AUSTRALIA IN AUS

Go To Betfair App