Skip to content



Track: The Valley | Distance: 1200m | Type: Group 1 3YO+ WFA | Rail Position: True | Track Conditions: Good 4 | Prizemoney: $1 mil

Weather looks fine so should be racing on a good surface.

G1 race won in recent years by Imperatriz, Masked Crusader, Sunlight, Lucky Hussler, Spirit Of Boom & the incomparable Black Caviar. We backed September Run to win this race at $19.50 in 2022.


1st up (1/20), 2nd up (3/34), 3rd up (6/50), 4th up (1/16), 5th up+ (1/10)

13-14 day break (7/51), 19-34-day break (4/46), 40-300-day break (1/26)

3yo (3/26), 4yo (4/31), 5yo (2/34), 6yo (3/24), 7yo+ (0/15)

SP Rank 1 (3/12) -46% POT

Every winner has come off a G1 top 3 finish at its prior start. Distance ranges from 1000m to 1600m last start (though 1000m last start a statistical negative).


Above average speed expected with Hypothetical & Queman pushing forward.

Imperatriz risks getting caught very wide from the gate, with Cylinder, I Am Me, Queen Of The Ball & The Astrologist all able to settle forward of midfield.

King’s Gambit & Johnny Rocker back of midfield.

Bella Nipotina & The Inferno will be out the back.


3. Queman – Won the Oakleigh Plate for us last start at $19 BFSP. This is much harder and must step up to WFA and 1200m.

5. Imperatriz Has won all 4 starts at Moonee Valley, 3 at G1 level. Much better suited here at the WFA conditions than she was in the Newmarket. Going to need a good ride from the wide gate however.

6. Bella Nipotina – Has an excellent record at Moonee Valley with a G1 win and 2 G1 2nds at this track. Would be very keen if the track was wet, but can still figure.

7. I Am Me – Ran 2nd to Imperatriz in the Manikato last prep, then 2nd to Magic Time in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. First up here but can surprise.

9. Hypothetical – Ran a close 2nd in the Oakleigh Plate last start. Tougher field here, up in distance and in WFA company.

10. Cylinder – Won the Newmarket Handicap impressively last start. Imperatriz is 6kg better off under the WFA scale here compared to Cylinder however.



1. 5 – Imperatriz
2. 10 – Cylinder
3. 6 – Bella Nipotina
4. 7 – I Am Me
5. 3 – Queman


Imperatriz the one to beat, but the wide gate could prove a challenge if she is caught 3 wide. If that occurs, it brings the likes of Cylinder & Bella Nipotina right into the race.


No bet.


2023 Australian Derby: Major Beel $53.63

2020 Empire Rose Stakes: Shout The Bar $32.60

2020 Melbourne Cup: Twilight Payment $28.26

2022 Blue Diamond Stakes: Daumier $23.00

2024 Oakleigh Plate: Queman $19.15

2022 William Reid Stakes: September Run $19.50

2021 Randwick Guineas: Lion’s Roar $18.95

2021 Coolmore Classic: Krone $15.50

2022 Australasian Oaks: Glint Of Hope $13.55

2023 TJ Smith Stakes: I Wish I Win $12.80

2023 Lightning Stakes: Coolangatta $12.69

2020 Metropolitan Handicap: Mirage Dancer $11.18

2022 Surround Stakes: Hinged $11.00

2020 Manikato Stakes: Hey Doc $10.32

2023 Blue Diamond Stakes: Little Brose $10.24


The William Reid Stakes is one of the most anticipated races in the Australian racing calendar. Held at the iconic Moonee Valley racecourse, this Group One race is run over a distance of 1,200 metres, attracting some of the finest sprinters in the country. Total prize money for this race is $1 million dollars AUD, with the winner taking home $600,000.

The William Reid Stakes has been held annually since 1925 and is named after William Reid, who was a Moonee Valley Racing Club committee member for more than 25 years. The race has been classified as a Group One race since 1979.

Over the years, some of the finest horses, trainers, and jockeys in Australian racing have participated in this race. Some of the most memorable moments in the race’s history include the victories of horses like Apache Cat, Black Caviar, and Sunline.

Previous winners, horses, jockeys, and trainers.

Some of the most notable winners of the William Reid Stakes include horses like Black Caviar, Apache Cat, and Manikato. Black Caviar won the race twice, in 2011 and 2013, while Apache Cat won it in 2008 and 2009. Manikato, one of the greatest racehorses in Australian history, won the William Reid Stakes an incredible 5 times in a row from 1979 to 1983.

Trainers like Peter Moody and Darren Weir have had success in the William Reid Stakes in the past decade. Moody won the race in 2011, 2013 with Black Caviar, and in 2016 with Flamberge, while Weir won it in 2015 with Lucky Hussler, and in 2018 with Hellbent.

When it comes to betting on the William Reid Stakes, it’s always a good idea to get expert racing tips and predictions from professionals who have a deep understanding of the sport. One of the best sources for William Reid Stakes tips and predictions is the Betfair Hub.

Betfair allows users to bet against each other rather than against the bookmaker, which means that the odds are often better than what is offered by traditional corporate bookmakers. This is just one of the reasons which makes Betfair the best platform to use when betting on the William Reid Stakes.

In terms of tips and predictions, it’s always a good idea to head to the Betfair Hub for the latest information surrounding the form of the horses leading up to the race, track conditions, key runners, and in-depth analysis. Betfair’s expert racing tipsters provide all this valuable insight, as well as providing tips and predictions, helping users make better informed betting decisions.

Along with providing the best odds on the Betfair Exchange, the Betfair Hub has multiple resources to help you grow your wagering IQ and tips and predictions from some of the most renowned experts in the field. Join Betfair today and capitalise on all this and more.

Go To Betfair App