Newmarket July Festival 2016 Punters Guide

TimeForm Logo Betfair

Timeform is a sports data specialist, focusing in horse racing and greyhound racing. Timeform’s skilled team of analysts are globally-renowned for accuracy, credibility and judgement.

Bet Smart with Timeform’s analysis, ratings & betting strategies across Newmarket.


Dates: Thursday July 7 – Saturday July 9

The three-day July Festival is the peak event at the venue considered the home of British horseracing. Two courses make up the Newmarket, The Rowley Mile Course and The July Course. The July Course, often referred as the Summer Course, as the name suggests is primarily used during the Newmarket July Festival.

The July Festival consists of three days, Ladies Day kicks off festivities on the Thursday followed by Friday’s Gentleman’s Day, culminating in Darley July Cup Day.

The Group 1 Darley July Cup is one of the major highlights of the festival and one of the most prestigious sprint races in the UK. First established in 1876, this year’s renewal will double as the seventh leg of the Global Sprint Challenge.

TV Coverage: Sky Racing, approximately between 11pm & 4am Thursday– Saturday.


2016 marks the 350th birthday of the Newmarket Racecourse, with the July meeting being inaugurated in 1765.

The July Cup was first established back in 1876 with the first two runnings won by Springfield, a colt bred by Queen Victoria at the Hampton Court Stud. The race received Group 1 Status in 1978 and has been a part of the Global Sprint Challenge since 2008.

Must See Races

Princess of Wales’s Stakes Friday 8th July 12:15am (Group 2)

Past Winners: Big Orange (2015), Cavalryman (2014), Universal (2013), Fiorente (2012), Crystal Capella (2011)

Major Players: Exosphere ($3), Second Step ($5), Elite Army ($6), The Grey Gatsby ($7)


Falmouth Stakes, Saturday 9th July 1:15am (Group 1)

Past Winners: Amazing Maria (2015), Integral (2014), Elusive Kate (2013), Giofara (2012), Timepiece (2011)

Major Players: Usherette ($1.97), Nemoralia ($7.6), Alice Springs ($10), Amazing Maria ($11.5)


The July Cup, Sunday 10th July 1:35am (Group 1)

Past Winners: Muhaarar (2015), Slade Power (2014), Lethal Force (2013), Mayson (2012), Dream Ahead (2011)

Major Players: Twilight Son ($5.8), Magical Memory ($6.2), Limato ($7), Quiet Reflection ($9.4)

Related Articles