Betfair State of Origin

It’s State of Origin as you’ve never seen it before. Five states. 10 professional punters. $15,000 prize pool. One winning team.

Starting Wednesday 19 August 2020 and running through until Saturday 24 October (Cox Plate day), teams from NSW, QLD, SA, VIC and WA will be allocated 10 units per week to bet with on any race from Wednesday to Saturday.

At least two of the 10 units must be allocated to Lay bets and all bets are recorded at BSP, with the state/team with the highest bank at the end of each week winning $1,000.

Come the end of the 10 weeks, the team with the highest accumulative profit over the competition’s duration is the winner of $3,000, with second place receiving $1,500 and third place winning $500.

Use #BetfairOrigin on Twitter to get behind your state and to keep in the loop with who each team is backing and laying.

Pro punters are betting with our new mobile app. You should too. Taking the best odds just became easier. 

All bets from every team can be found here.

*Last updated Monday 26th October


Who is representing each state?

Teams will be announced across 17 and 18 August. This page will be updated as they are announced.



Western Australia

New South Wales

South Australia

When is the competition taking place?

The competition starts on Wednesday 19 August and ends on Saturday 24 October.

Bets will be able to be placed on any thoroughbred meeting from Wednesday to Saturday across each of the 10 weeks.

How will teams place bets?

Teams have a weekly betting bank of 10 units. All teams must inform Betfair Australia of their bets and staking prior to 10am local time on the day of the thoroughbred race they are wanting to bet on. At least two units per week must be allocated to lay bets. The bets will be published ASAP on the Betfair Hub and promoted on the @Betfair_Aus Twitter page.

How will bets be recorded?

All teams’ bets will be published on the Betfair Hub. These bets will be recorded at the Betfair Starting Price minus commission. In the case of lay bets, the units stated will be the number of units that the team is risking.

How can I get involved in Betfair State of Origin?

The best way to support your state is to use the #BetfairOrigin hashtag on Twitter. We’ll be giving out merchandise packs for those who get involved, supporting their state.

Alternatively, all of the pro punter participants have their own Twitter accounts. Follow and interact with them through their accounts linked in the team lists above as teams are announced.

What are the prizes for the winning teams?

The total prize pool is $15,000. At the end of each week, the team with the highest profit from that week’s bets will be awarded with $1,000.

The remaining $5,000 from the prize pool will be distributed at the end of the 10 weeks. The team with the highest accumulative profit awarded $3,000, with $1,500 allocated to second place and $500 allocated to third place.

related articles


Lay Betting is completely unique to Betfair. It let's you bet on an outcome to NOT happen. Discover how ...

Betfair Starting Price (BSP)

In 2016, the Betfair Starting Price (BSP or Betfair SP) was born. This revolutionary product allows back and lay ...

Betfair Live: A New Market Watching Tool

This analytical tool, exclusive to Australian and New Zealand customers, visualises the dynamic nature of Betfair markets. It will ...