Welcome to the Betfair Hub’s home for Big Bash League 12 (BBL12)! Betfair’s cricket analyst provides insights and betting tips across every game of the 2022-23 Big Bash League. Who do you trust to hit big and play hard this Summer? Read his game and season preview below.

This season marks the 12th edition of the Big Bash League and it shapes as a particularly influential tournament.

Both domestic and international players will be looking to press their claims for higher honours. The Perth Scorchers made it four BBL titles becoming the most successful Big Bash team in history. Can they go back-to-back?  They will face stiff competition from all angles, whilst contrasting fortunes await the two sides who have yet to lift the trophy.


Markets available on Big Bash League futures available soon. 

Click here to check out the cricket markets on the Betfair Exchange. 


The Big Bash League (BBL) is an exciting and colourful men’s cricket competition played annually during the Australian summer. The teams-based competition uses the T20 format, with each team batting for 20 overs. The short-form games, which are completed in around three hours, are known for their heavy hitting and outlandish shot-making. Betfair is the only betting agency to follow for the best and most accurate information and data, including Big Bash tips, on the BBL competition. As Australia’s largest betting exchange, Betfair is the leader when it comes to offering punters statistical analysis and observations that can help identify value-for-money considerations, including BBL tips and the best back and lay bets for various categories in each game.

The first edition of the BBL competition, which is run by Cricket Australia, was played in the 2005-06 summer. The six original participants were based on the traditional Australian state representative teams: Victorian Bushrangers, New South Wales Blues, Southern Redbacks, Tasmanian Tigers, Western Warriors, and Queensland Bulls. The competition underwent significant change after the 2010-11 season, with the state-based teams replaced by eight ‘franchises’ representing Australian cities: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder. Teams can sign players from around the country as well as limited number of international players. They play each other twice in the group stage of the competition (56 games) before a five-game finals series is held to determine the champions. The Perth Scorchers have won the title four times and will be the defending champions in the 2022/23 season, having defeated the Sydney Sixers in the 2021/22 final played in Melbourne.

Betfair’s BBL offerings are extensive and include BBL tips for every game. Our data experts, who study the T20 format of the game and specialist T20 players all year round, provide a comprehensive season guide, which is complemented by detailed previews of each contest, including how pitch and weather conditions may impact play, form lines, how previous meetings between teams may factor into outcomes, ‘spotlight’ players to consider wagering on, and key betting strategies. The specialist data, including free BBL betting tips, is aimed at helping punters make the correct choices to extract maximum value from their BBL wagering.

On top of the Big Bash tips it offers, Betfair provides punters with an extensive range of betting categories for each BBL game. Bettors can use Big Bash betting tips to consider something as straightforward as the outright winner of a game or they may want to lay a team in a specific match-up. They can choose the normally attractive odds on whether a game will end in a tie. They also can focus on individual players and wager on which will finish the game with the most runs. And they can also dabble in the various ‘over’ categories, wagering on how many runs will be scored in a particular over or a sector of overs in a 20-over inning.

T20 cricket attracts specialist players including the likes of Melbourne Stars captain Glenn Maxwell, who during the 2021/22 season smashed an incredible 154 runs not out from just 64 balls against the Hobart Hurricanes. Maxwell’s knock, the highest individual score in BBL history, helped the Stars post a total of 273, also a BBL record. The Stars’ total included 29 four and 10 sixes. Punters who enjoy the unpredictable nature of live sport can follow Betfair’s in-play betting options, which provide enticing value for dynamic and unpredictable sports such as BBL cricket.

Critically, punters using Betfair – Australia’s largest betting exchange – can set their own odds for racing and sporting events including BBL games. Make sure to stay informed about the BBL and its teams and players from a betting perspective by following Betfair’s BBL betting tips and full range of betting-related insights and data.

What's On the Betfair Hub


As Matt Barker and The Pro Sports Syndicate will tell you, cricket betting is one of the best sports to ...


The Betfair Hub is home to Australia's best Sports content. With selections, analysis and betting strategies from around the ...


Betfair has a team of Data Scientists, both in-house and external contractors, that build prediction models. They use dozens ...