Memsie Stakes Betting Odds

Newly acquired Group1 status has positioned the Memsie Stakes as the first real test of Spring. Paul Bugeja explains why the Memsie is such a good indicator of what the Victorian racing carnival has in store.

As the winter months pass, and with them a spelling period for trainers and their spring racing hopes, the Memsie Stakes can be an excellent litmus test in terms of form and success for the jam-packed Spring Racing Carnival ahead.

With total prize-money in excess of AUD$350,000, the Memsie Stakes is an MRC G1 Australian Thoroughbred race over 1400m under weight-for-age conditions. Run at Caulfield, the Memsie was upgraded from G2 to G1 Status in 2013 positioning it as the first G1 race of the yearly racing calendar.

First held in 1899, and won by Veneda, given it's timing, the race attracts a mixed field of runners. Trainers will use it as the chance to trial spring racing aspirants first up from a spell, but the race also attracts less-renowned sprinter-milers that have been prepared specifically for the shorter 1400m.

However, there can be little doubt that a herd of stellar horses can be lined up for the Memsie Stakes winner's list: Heroic (1925 and 1926), Phar Lap (1931), Ajax (1938, 1939 and 1940), Comic Court (1949 and 1950), Rising Fast (1954), Dane Ripper (1998), Sunline (2000 and 2001), Makybe Diva (2005) and So You Think (2010).

Looking over the history books, an interesting aspect of the Memsie Stakes, at least up until the 1970s, is that it comes up as the race ahead of most others as containing a disproportionate number of multiple winners.

Not only does it have a number of back-to-back and back-to-back-to-back winners, it also has a back-to-back-to-back-to back winner! The roll call is as follows: Eurythmic (1920, 1921, 1922), Heroic (1925, 1926), Waltzing Lily (1933, 1934), Ajax (1938, 1939,1940), Comic Court (1949, 1950), Coppice (1955, 1954), Lord (1958, 1959, 1960, 1961) and Yangtze (1965, 1966).

As a sign of maybe a change in attitude towards horses lining up for the race, however, in modern times, the Memsie has proven more difficult to back up in, with only the great Sunline (2000, 2001) able to do so over the last forty years.

Outside of favouring horses fresh from a break, there is one lead-up race for the Memsie Stakes, namely the 1400m JJ Liston Stakes, although there isn't enough data to indicate it as a key lead-up.

However, it's the barometer that the Memsie Stakes is for spring that's more important, and it has proven a great lead-up for several Spring Racing Carnival events, including the Manikato Stakes, won by Dane Ripper in 1998 and Sunline in 2000.

Sunline also is the proof of an even bigger lead-up race the Memsie Stakes propels winners onto - the Cox Plate. Sunline claimed the Memsie/Manikato/Cox triple-header all in the one year (2000), with other prestigious winners of the Memsie/Cox double including Heroic, Phar Lap, Ajax, Sunline. Rising Fast and perhaps the greatest of all in recent times, Makybe Diva.

For punters and trainers alike, there can be as much interest in horses that run well from the back of the field, as much as in the eventual winner of the Memsie with history showing good staying horses emerging from the Memsie Stakes often move on to greater heights during the spring carnival. Taking this into account, stayers tend to have a good record in the race, with no better example of this other than the magnificent Makybe Diva's win over the 1400m distance, her only win in a race less than 2000m.

In terms of track bias and barriers, given the race starts in a short chute at the back of the track, that then leads straight into a corner, the inside draw is advantageous. This advantage is often magnified further due to the rail being out a fair way for the Memsie, particularly favouring on-pace horses.

The positive for punters is that the Memsie has, at least of late, been a little easier to predict than other races during the Spring, with seven of the last 11 favourites successful, so it can be a sweet taste of success to kick of a financially profitable Spring Racing Carnival!

Weird and Wonderful Facts about the Memsie Stakes

1. It’s rare to see three-year-olds contesting the Memsie Stakes due to it being scheduled too early in spring
2. With two apiece, Lee Freedman, Bart Cummings and Trevor McKee have between them won nearly half of the Memsie Stakes since 2000
3. Bundy Lad ($13 in 1994) is the only winner of the Memsie Stakes in the past 20 years to have started at a double-figure quote
4. Since 2000, seven Cox Plate winners have come via the Memsie Stakes, including Sunline, Makybe Diva and So You Think.
5. The unlucky Whobegotyou was pipped at the post two years running in 2009 and 2010, taking out back-to-back second places in the Memsie Stakes
6. Dane Ripper holds the record for the fastest winning time of the Memsie Stakes at 1:22.8.
7. In the past decade or so, Michael Rodd and Greg Childs hold two Memsie Stakes apiece, both, also in subsequent years. Childs was successful on the great Sunline with back-to-backs in 2000 and 2001. Rodd took the honours with Sincero in 2012 and then backed up a year later with Atlantic Jewel in 2013, which looked a favourite to join the list of Memsie/Cox Plate doubles but pulled up lame after a later training run and was subsequently pulled from the Cox Plate, and, sadly, retired

For the best fixed odds and market odds betting on the Memsie Stakes check out Betfair. Australians only betting exchange, offering better odds, greater choice and more control over your betting experience.