The Champion Stakes Betting Odds

The Champion Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race that is run in the United Kingdom. The race is open to thoroughbreds which are three-years-old and above. The event is contested over a distance of one mile and two furlongs (2,012 meters) on the Rowley Mile at the Newmarket Racecourse in the town of Newmarket in Suffolk, England. The Champion Stakes is run every year in October and was first run back in 1877.

Springfield won the original running of the race. The winner in 2008 was New Approach, which was ridden by jockey Kevin Manning in a time of 2:00.13. The horse was trained by Jim Bolger and is owned by Princess Haya of Jordan. The 2007 winner was Literato, ridden by Christophe Lemaire and trained by Jean Claude-Rouget. Literato is owned by Herve Morin. Lemaire was also the winning jockey in 2006 when he rode Pride to a first place finish. Other notable winning jockeys throughout the years include Steve Cauthen in 1990 and Lester Piggott in 1992. There have been several repeat winners of the Champion Stakes and Tristan is the only horse to have won it three years on the trot, from 1882 to 1884.

For the best fixed odds and market odds betting on the Champion Stakes check out Betfair. Australians only betting exchange, offering better odds, greater choice and more control over your betting experience.