Brisbane Cup Betting Odds

The Brisbane Cup was first held in 1871. A Group 2 race for thoroughbred horses, this Australian race is open to horses aged at least 3 years old. It is run over a distance of 2400 metres in handicap conditions at the Eagle Farm Racecourse, near Brisbane, Queensland. The race is usually held in the month of June.

The Brisbane Cup is one of the main events of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival. This cup is normally held on the Monday of the Queen's birthday holiday weekend in June. The Eagle Farm Racecourse plays host to the Stradbroke Handicap and the Queensland Derby on Saturday which is then followed by the Brisbane cup on Monday. This is one of the principal lead up races to the Melbourne Cup.

Art Success is a four year old gelding who won the Brisbane Cup in 2006. The rider was A. Patillo who was trained by J. Collins. Portland Singa won it in 2005. The most successful jockey at the Brisbane Cup however is Chris Munce who has been aboard three winners- Desert Chill in 1997 and 1995 and Grooming in 1992. And the top trainer with five Brisbane Cup champions is T. J Smith.

For the best fixed odds and market odds betting on the Brisbane Cup check out Betfair. Australians only betting exchange, offering better odds, greater choice and more control over your betting experience.